2018 40 Under 40: Emily Hook

Emily Hook

Emily Hook, CMP, 35, works in Lexington, Kentucky, as conference and event manager at AMR Management Services. As a 2018 40 Under 40 honoree, Hook discusses her passion for the events industry.

Connect with Hook on Instagram. What I do: My day-to-day activity consists of detail-driven logistical support and management of every aspect of a client’s function to ensure it carries out my client’s vision. This includes inspired menu design and selections, expressive audio/visual interpretations, strategically mapping room layouts and designs, to financial pre- and post-reconciliation, ingenious off-site events and tour arrangements, and, finally, the on-site coordination of the event in its entirety. How I got here: Upon college graduation, I spent a small stint in a law firm before realizing that avenue was not in the best interest of my future. I found the next best place, the Fayette County Bar Association as the Membership and Event Coordinator. From that point forward, associations were my destination and I moved from county, to city, to state, to regional, to national and, finally, to international associations.  AMR Management Services offered me an opportunity as a conference and event manager that I could not resist. . Specific improvement I’ve made: I instituted a vision board for our team’s department that allows ideas to flow without judgement. This area allows us to bounce ideas off one another to see how far we can push the envelope. What I am working on Nnow: Over the summer, we will bring four smaller regional conferences together in New Orleans for a multi-regional super conference. While tactfully connecting all the regions that normally do not get to collaborate, we will simultaneously be maintaining their division so they can network within their own regions to address specific geographical issues and priorities. The attendees at this event are not used to a conference of this size and presentation so I am excited to show them a small glimpse into a new level of educational and meeting design.  What I Do Outside of Work: I spend time with my family and dogs. I also enjoy long drives in the country with my husband or working out throughout the week. DuPage CVB